CNU Library Blog

Title: The Autobiography of a Transgender Scientist. 

Author: Ben Barres (Author), Nancy Hopkins (Foreword). 

Publication info: The MIT Press, 2020. Autobiography, 160 pages. 

Location: Rancho Cordova campus. Call number: QP353.4.B37 A3 2018. 

Description: "A leading neuroscientist describes his life, gender transition, groundbreaking scientific work on glial cells, and his advocacy for gender equality in STEM. Ben Barres was known for his groundbreaking scientific work and advocacy for gender equality in science. In this autobiography, completed shortly before his death from pancreatic cancer in December 2017, Barres (born in 1954) describes a life full of remarkable accomplishments—from his childhood as a precocious math and science whiz to his experiences as a female student at MIT in the 1970s to his gender confusion and later transition in his 40s, to his scientific work and role as teacher and mentor at Stanford. As an undergraduate at MIT, Barres experienced discrimination, but it was after transitioning that he realized how differently male and female scientists are treated. He became an advocate for gender equality in science, and later in life responded pointedly to Larry Summers's speculation that women were innately unsuited to be scientists. At Stanford, Barres made important discoveries about glia, the most numerous cells in the brain, and he describes some of his work. 'The most rewarding part of his job,' however, was mentoring young scientists. That, and his advocacy for women and transgender scientists, ensures his legacy." 

Title: Tangles: A Story About Alzheimer's, My Mother, and Me

Author: Sarah Leavitt

Publication info: Skyhorse, 2012; Graphic novel, 128 pages. 

Location: Rancho Cordova campus library. Call number: RC523 .L43 2012. 

Description: "In this powerful memoir the the LA Times calls “moving, rigorous, and heartbreaking," Sarah Leavitt reveals how Alzheimer’s disease transformed her mother, Midge, and her family forever. In spare blackand- white drawings and clear, candid prose, Sarah shares her family’s journey through a harrowing range of emotions—shock, denial, hope, anger, frustration—all the while learning to cope, and managing to find moments of happiness. Midge, a Harvard educated intellectual, struggles to comprehend the simplest words; Sarah’s father, Rob, slowly adapts to his new role as full-time caretaker, but still finds time for wordplay and poetry with his wife; Sarah and her sister Hannah argue, laugh, and grieve together as they join forces to help Midge. Tangles confronts the complexity of Alzheimer’s disease, and ultimately releases a knot of memories and dreams to reveal a bond between a mother and a daughter that will never come apart." 

Title: Fighting Invisible Enemies: Health and Medical Transitions among Southern California Indians. 

Author: Clifford E. Trafzer. 

Publication info: University of Oklahoma Press, 2019. 392 pages. Paperback.

Location: Physical book located in Rancho Cordova (1 copy). 

Description: Native Americans long resisted Western medicine—but had less power to resist the threat posed by Western diseases. And so, as the Office of Indian Affairs reluctantly entered the business of health and medicine, Native peoples reluctantly began to allow Western medicine into their communities. Fighting Invisible Enemies traces this transition among inhabitants of the Mission Indian Agency of Southern California from the late nineteenth through the mid-twentieth century. What historian Clifford E. Trafzer describes is not so much a transition from one practice to another as a gradual incorporation of Western medicine into Indian medical practices. Melding indigenous and medical history specific to Southern California, his book combines statistical information and documents from the federal government with the oral narratives of several tribes. Many of these oral histories—detailing traditional beliefs about disease causation, medical practices, and treatment—are unique to this work, the product of the author’s close and trusted relationships with tribal elders. Trafzer examines the years of interaction that transpired before Native people allowed elements of Western medicine and health care into their lives, homes, and communities. Among the factors he cites as impelling the change were settler-borne diseases, the negative effects of federal Indian policies, and the sincere desire of both Indians and agency doctors and nurses to combat the spread of disease. Here we see how, unlike many encounters between Indians and non-Indians in Southern California, this cooperative effort proved positive and constructive, resulting in fewer deaths from infectious diseases, especially tuberculosis. The first study of its kind, Trafzer’s work fills gaps in Native American, medical, and Southern California history. It informs our understanding of the working relationship between indigenous and Western medical traditions and practices as it continues to develop today.

Title: Stitching a Revolution.

Author: Cleve Jones and Jeff Dawson. 

Publication info: HarperOne, 2000. Memoir, 304 pages. 

Available: For checkout at our Rancho Cordova campus library.

Topics: AIDS Epidemic, LGBTQIA+ history, activism, San Francisco, CA. 

Description: "Against the turbulent backdrop of politics and sexual liberation in San Francisco during the seventies, Jones recounts his coming-of-age alongside friend and mentor Harvey Milk--and, later, Milk's assassination and the ensuing riots that threatened to tear down all they had accomplished. But Jones's political aspirations were put on hold after the emergence of an insidious, unexplainable "gay cancer" that would soon become known throughout the world as AIDS. Demoralized by the tide of death and despair sweeping his community, brutally assaulted by gay-bashing thugs, and faced with the specter of his own positive diagnosis, Jones sought a way to restore hope to a world falling apart beneath his feet.

What started out as a simple panel of fabric stitched for his best friend now covers a space larger than twenty-five football fields and contains over eighty thousand names. The Quilt has affected the lives of many people, bridging racial, sexual, and religious barriers to unite millions in the fight against AIDS.

Stitching a Revolution is a compelling, dramatic tale with a cast of memorable characters from all walks of life. At times uplifting, at times heartwrenching, this inspiring story reveals what it means to be human and how the power of love conquers all--even death." 

Title: Realizing the Promise of Equity in the Organ Transplantation System

Authors: Committee on A Fairer and More Equitable, Cost-Effective, and Transparent System of Donor Organ Procurement, Allocation, and Meredith Hackmann, Rebecca A. English, Kenneth W. Kizer. 

Publication info: Washington, DC: National Academies Press. 2022. 

Available: Academic eBook Collection. 

Description: Each year, the individuals and organizations in the U.S. organ donation, procurement, allocation, and distribution system work together to provide transplants to many thousands of people, but thousands more die before getting a transplant due to the ongoing shortage of deceased donor organs and inequitable access to transplant waiting lists. Realizing the Promise of Equity in the Organ Transplantation System, a new consensus study report from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine?s Committee on A Fairer and More Equitable, Cost-Effective, and Transparent System of Donor Organ Procurement, Allocation, and Distribution, provides expert recommendations to improve fairness, equity, transparency, and cost-effectiveness in the donor organ system.

Title: Traumatic Brain Injury: A Roadmap for Accelerating Progress. 

Author: National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Health and Medicine Division; Board on Health Care Services; Board on Health Sciences Policy; Committee on Accelerating Progress in Traumatic Brain Injury Research and Care; Chanel Matney; Katherine Bowman; Donald Berwick

Publication info: Washington, DC : National Academies Press. 2022. 

Available: Academic eBook Collection. 

Description: Every community is affected by traumatic brain injury (TBI). Causes as diverse as falls, sports injuries, vehicle collisions, domestic violence, and military incidents can result in injuries across a spectrum of severity and age groups. Just as the many causes of TBI and the people who experience it are diverse, so too are the physiological, cognitive, and behavioral changes that can occur following injury. The overall TBI ecosystem is not limited to healthcare and research, but includes the related systems that administer and finance healthcare, accredit care facilities, and provide regulatory approval and oversight of products and therapies. TBI also intersects with the wide range of community organizations and institutions in which people return to learning, work, and play, including the education system, work environments, professional and amateur sports associations, the criminal justice system, and others. Traumatic Brain Injury: A Roadmap for Accelerating Progress examines the current landscape of basic, translational, and clinical TBI research and identifies gaps and opportunities to accelerate research progress and improve care with a focus on the biological, psychological, sociological, and ecological impacts. This report calls not merely for improvement, but for a transformation of attitudes, understanding, investments, and care systems for TBI.

Title: Loneliness: Science and Practice. 

Authors: Dilip V. Jeste, Tanya T. Nguyen, Nancy J. Donovan. 

Publication info: American Psychiatric Association Publishing. 2022. 

Available: Academic eBook Collection. 

Description: The internet, social media platforms, and digital technology all seem to point to a world of greater interconnectivity and social connection. Yet even against this background of global social networks, loneliness remains a major issue for millions of individuals, and one with tangible consequences: studies have demonstrated that loneliness correlates with to an increased risk of mental illnesses, as well as a 45% increased risk of death.In Loneliness: Science and Practice, experts from the United States and Europe seek to construct a translational framework for recognizing and addressing loneliness in the clinical context. Based on the latest literature on the topic, the book tackles • The theoretical foundations of loneliness and other dimensions of social connection. Readers will benefit from validated rating scales to measure loneliness that account for the varied experiences of, and factors that contribute to, loneliness.• The incidence and presentation of loneliness throughout the life cycle• Loneliness among marginalized communities, including racial and ethnic minorities, LGBTQ+ individuals, immigrants, and individuals with mental illnesses• The neurobiological and systemic neuroendocrine and inflammatory mechanisms of loneliness• Interventions for loneliness, from research-based interventions for both younger and older age groups to community-based interventions Throughout this guide, clinical vignettes help ground the theoretical information in real-world applicability. Key points help readers reference each chapter's most salient points quickly, and lists of suggested readings open the door to further exploration.By examining the psychosocial and biological mechanisms of loneliness, as well as the unique social and cultural contexts in which it can occur, Loneliness: Science and Practice offers readers a holistic understanding of loneliness and a framework for addressing it in the distinct communities they serve.

Title:  Fireflies: Memory, Identity, and Poetry. 

Available: Academic eBook Collection. 

Author: David P. Owen Jr. 

Publication info: 1st ed. Rotterdam : Brill. 2017. 

Description: Fireflies is a book about how writing poetry can help us explore memory and identity, and it is also a book of poetry that explores memory and identity. This work is an example of the “liminal” scholarship advocated in The Need for Revision (2011, by the same author), occupying a space in the academic world's “windows and doorways,” not exactly in any one field but rather in the “spaces-between where the inside and outside commingle”; it seeks to trouble the boundaries between teacher and writer, critic and artist, writer and reader, and teacher and student in a way from which all parties might benefit. Fireflies aims for a different kind of scholarship, and hopes to offer new ways for teachers to be professional and academic. The second section of the book is a full-length poetry text—the author's own exploration of the notions that people who teach writing should also be writers, and that poetry is more something you do than something you are. The book says we should write poems not because of some inborn gift for it, but because the act of writing poetry is good for us, and helps us understand ourselves better; it is a book written in the hopes that other books will be written. 

Title: The Complete Language of Food: A Definitive and Illustrated History

Author: S. Theresa Dietz

Publication info: New York, NY: Wellfleet Press. 2022

Location: Academic eBook Collection

Description: Awaken both your inner foodie and your inner yogi as you journey into the consciousness of everyday foods, from their origins in myth to modern interpretations today. Have you ever considered the cultural origins and meanings of your favorite foods? The Complete Language of Food ties ingredients back to mythological and folklore roots for a unique and appetizing exploration of the foods we eat. Presented alphabetically, each food entry includes: A beautiful illustration concise summary of the food's mythology and folklore, how the food is used in certain cultures and traditions, and correlations to chakras, elements, and deities. With everyday ingredients like acai, bok choy, and cauliflower, you're bound to learn more than you ever imagined about your household favorites as you discover the symbolic meanings, uses, and facts behind each. The knowledge gained will bring new meaning and intention to your mealtime. Archaeologists have found evidence of pickled cucumbers that date as far back to 2030 BCE (in northern regions of what is now Iraq). And Macedoine, a precursor to ice cream, is a type of jelly dessert that was served in snow and thought to be a favorite of Alexander the Great. It was known that the ancient Greeks used honey in their skincare! Elegantly designed and beautifully illustrated, the Complete Illustrated Encyclopedia series offers comprehensive, display-worthy references on a range of intriguing topics, including dream interpretation, techniques for harnessing the power of dreams, flower meanings, and the stories behind signs and symbols. Also available in the series: Complete Book of Dreams, Complete Language of Flowers, Complete Language of Herbs, Signs & Symbols of the World, and Complete Guide to Astrological Self-Care.

Left: John William Polidori. Right: A copy of The Vampyre, for which Lord Byron was falsely given credit. Polidori is now recognized as the author of The Vampyre. 

Happy birthday, Dr. John William Polidori! In 1816, Polidori became Lord Byron's personal physician. The two became friends with Mary Shelley and her husband Percy, and the group began writing macabre, horror stories. Mary Shelley's "The Monster" remains famous and iconic today. One of Byron's short stories became the basis of Polidori's longer book, The Vampyre. For years, authorship of this book was incorrectly attributed to Byron, who tried to correct the mistake and publish his own stories. 

You can read The Vampyre online for free through Project Gutenberg! Yay, internet! 

• "The Vampyre" by John William Polidori (Available to read online -- thanks, Project Gutenberg!) 
• Wikipedia: John William Polidori
• Goodreads: John William Polidori
• Goodreads: The Vampyre (A review) 
• The Guardian: Polidori's vampire (A review) 
• Love Vampires: The Vampyre -- notice that this source is all about vampire fiction -- I love it. People reading and writing on this blog will know more about vampire fiction than the average person, and have important opinions to consider. To even out this research, I've also linked reviews on more common sources like The Guardian and Goodreads. 
• London Remembers: John William Polidori