LibGuides: Banned Books: Recommended databases

Useful links

LibGuides home page
Browse through all CNU library guides here.
CNU Library home page
Reach all of our library services and resources, as well as the CNU homepage.
A-Z Database page
Browse a full list of our library databases here.
Catalog
Browse CNU's physical collection of books.

Contact us

Email: library@cnsu.edu -- All questions and suggestions are welcome. We're eager to help.

Quick help: Walk-up hours (generally M-F) are posted in the library.

Schedule an appointment: Meet with a librarian on the topic of your choice.

Recommended databases

First are links to free access to many banned books.

Second are links to databases with information on educational theory and practices, which provide context for book banning and challenging, as well as educators' reactions and responses to the phenomenon.

For finding banned books

Project Gutenberg
A publicly available, open-access library with thousands of free eBooks. Includes books for academic and casual reading across a wide range of genres.

Libby eBook reader
Borrow ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more from your local library for free! Libby is the newer library reading app by OverDrive.
more...less...
The Sacramento Public Library system has a huge range of eBooks you can check out on this app!
Spotify
If you already have a Spotify account, you have access to 15 hours of audio book listening per month! (Audio books are only available with paid Spotify accounts.)

Sources on education theory & practice

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
ERIC stands for "Education Resources Information Center." Publicly available online database with content on educational research and information. Sponsored by the Institute of Educational Sciences and the US Department of Education.
WAC Clearinghouse: CompPile
CompPile is a search interface allowing users to search open-access articles on writing and education across all academic disciplines.
The WAC Clearinghouse is an open-access, educational website supported by more than 150 charitable contributors, institutional sponsors, and roughly 180 volunteer editors, editorial staff members, reviewers, and editorial board members. Copyright on the materials on this site is held by the authors and editors who have contributed content to it (© 1997-2023). This site is published using the Masa CMS and the Lucee open-source CFML platform.
Academic Search Complete
This database contains an extensive collection of peer-reviewed articles on a variety of subjects, including biology, chemistry, health sciences, humanities, health sciences, physics, and psychology. CNU login required. Key feature: Full-text finder.