LibGuides: Biochemistry: Online resources

Useful links

LibGuides home page
Browse through all CNU library guides here.
CNU Library home page
Reach all of our library services and resources, as well as the CNU homepage.
A-Z Database page
Browse a full list of our library databases here.
Catalog
Browse CNU's physical collection of books.

Email: library@cnsu.edu -- All questions and suggestions are welcome. We're eager to help.

Quick help: Walk-up hours (generally M-F) are posted in the library.

Schedule an appointment: Meet with a librarian on the topic of your choice.

National Center for Biotechnology Information
This publicly available database contains a wealth of data and literature on topics in biotechnology and medicine. Key features: genetics datasets, research news & updates, and tools like the amino acid explorer.

UCSF Chimera
UCSF Chimera is a program for the interactive visualization and analysis of molecular structures and related data, including density maps, trajectories, and sequence alignments. It is available free of charge for noncommercial use.
RCSB Protein Data Bank
RCSB Protein Data Bank (RCSB PDB) enables breakthroughs in science and education by providing access and tools for exploration, visualization, and analysis of experimentally-determined 3D structures from the Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive, and computed Structure Models (CSM) from AlphaFold DB and ModelArchive. These data can be explored in context of external annotations providing a structural view of biology.
Clustal Omega
Clustal Omega is a new multiple sequence alignment program that uses seeded guide trees and HMM profile-profile techniques to generate alignments between three or more sequences.

PubMed Central (US Government Free Site)
A publicly available, free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
OMIM: An Online Catalog of Human Genes and Genetic Disorders
This open-access database contains full-text entries on thousands of human genes, genetic phenotypes, and genetic disorders.
This database is maintained by the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. OMIM stands for "Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man."
Ensembl
Ensembl is a genome browser for vertebrate genomes that supports research in comparative genomics, evolution, sequence variation and transcriptional regulation. Ensembl annotate genes, computes multiple alignments, predicts regulatory function and collects disease data. Ensembl tools include BLAST, BLAT, BioMart and the Variant Effect Predictor (VEP) for all supported species.
"The Ensembl project is headed by Paul Flicek and receives input from an independent scientific advisory board. Ensembl is based at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory's European Bioinformatics Institute, which is located on the Wellcome Genome Campus in Hinxton, south of the city of Cambridge, United Kingdom."

Academic Search Complete
This database contains an extensive collection of peer-reviewed articles on a variety of subjects, including biology, chemistry, health sciences, humanities, health sciences, physics, and psychology. CNU login required. Key feature: Full-text finder.
Science Direct
This database contains articles, journals & book chapters focused on all things "science:" ecology, environmental science, chemistry, geology, genetics, medicine, molecular biology, physics, psychology, and more. CNU Login required. Key feature: All articles in this database are peer-reviewed.
Medline (OVID Interface)
This database contains full-text and cited articles on topics within medicine, health care, the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science. CNU login required. Key features: Full-text finder, and indexed searching tools for those writing systematic reviews or other in-depth research articles.
PubMed Central (US Government Free Site)
A publicly available, free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Academic eBook Collection
Large database containing multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Medicine & Healthcare eBooks
This database contains full-text eBooks from Ovid. Search by keyword or topic. Download by chapter. CNU login required. Key feature: Ovid's new eBook reader allows you to annotate and highlight text as you read.

Chem Libretexts
"This Living Library is a principal hub of the LibreTexts project, which is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning."
more...less...
The LibreTexts libraries are Powered by NICE CXone Expert and are supported by the Department of Education Open Textbook Pilot Project, the UC Davis Office of the Provost, the UC Davis Library, the California State University Affordable Learning Solutions Program, and Merlot. We also acknowledge previous National Science Foundation support under grant numbers 1246120, 1525057, and 1413739. The LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books.

Schedule a research appointment
CNU students, staff, and faculty: Schedule a research appointment with a librarian for personalized one-on-one help!
Database tutorials
In this guide, you'll find videos that explain how to navigate the database page and use individual databases.