Pharmacy

"With content from 300 expert contributors, this valuable resource offers detailed descriptions of common and uncommon disease states, including treatment by pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic means. Each disease chapter opens with a Patient Care Process, helping readers understand the collaborative care model in which pharmacists work and communicate with other healthcare providers for effective coordinated care."

"As pharmacists in different stages of career development, a focus on and commitment to career planning are important during all stages of a pharmacist’s career journey. Refocusing on a specific pathway, especially during a period of disillusionment, can provide new perspectives, plans, and ideas that can contribute to career enhancement, repurpose, or change. The authors of The Pharmacist Career Journey aim to provide resources and actionable planning steps for pharmacists to use throughout their career spectrum. Divided into three sections, this book includes information on planning for the development, progression, and maximization of a practitioner’s career. Also included are options for continuing professional development and continuing professional education and their application in crafting a career path in the pharmacy profession."

"Student pharmacists need a textbook to use for learning in general about etiquette, ethics, law, and other topics for practice courses. It should be a book that is the right size for quickly reading and referencing information when in a classroom or completing introductory and advanced practice courses. We feel this text will fulfill that need for students. Faculty/preceptors often find themselves looking for material that quickly acquaints students with a certain theory, process, or practice. We hope that this text meets those expectations. This text can be used both in the classroom to introduce ideas and during practice courses to help guide students in learning terminology, organizing case information, improving problem-solving skills, and rounding. The book is divided into three working sections: systems and expectations, patient care tool box, and topics in pharmacy practice."

This "book begins by introducing the concept of drug information, including its history, and providing information on various places drug information specialists may be employed. This is followed by information on how to answer a question, from the process of gathering necessary background information, through determining the actual information need, to answering the question. The chapter on drug information resources includes descriptions of the most commonly used references and contains information on apps available for practitioners. The drug literature evaluation chapters have been updated and expanded to cover newer concepts, such as adaptive clinical trials."

"The Immune System is a concise yet thorough human-oriented introduction to how the human immune system works. It provides an up-to-date presentation of the field, written in an accessible style, replete with relevant medical examples. Plentiful illustrations and micrographs complement and illuminate the explanations."

This book offers a "hands-on, step-by-step guide to receiving and filling prescription drug orders as well as a comprehensive look at the preparation of sterile and non-sterile extemporaneously compounded preparations...In addition, it offers a wealth of guidance on processing prescriptions, avoiding dangerous medication and labeling errors, counseling patients and caregivers, and much more – giving you all the knowledge you need to succeed on your exams and safely carry out the practice of pharmacy."

"The gold standard on pharmaceutical calculations, this widely acclaimed text covers the full range of calculations pharmacy students must learn for successful pharmacy practice, including dosing, compounding, metric conversions and more. "

This book "equips pharmacy students with everything they need to master the intricacies of pharmaceutical dosage form design and production and achieve successful outcomes in their courses and beyond. Reflecting the latest CAPE, APhA, and NAPLEX® competencies, this trusted, extensively updated resource clarifies the interrelationships between pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical principles, product design, formulation, manufacture, compounding, and the clinical application of the various dosage forms in patient care, as well as regulations and standards governing the manufacturing and compounding of pharmaceuticals."

"Develop the strong foundation in pathophysiology you need to guide your patient care! Exploring the etiology, pathogenesis, clinical manifestations, and treatment of diseases and disorders, Pathophysiology, 7th Edition focuses on the major alterations in the homeostasis of body systems to provide you with a unifying framework. Current scientific findings and relevant global research are integrated throughout the book, with chapters organized by body system, beginning with an illustrated review of anatomy and normal physiology."

This book "offers an integrated mechanism-based and systems-based approach to contemporary pharmacology and drug development. An easy-to-follow format helps first- and second-year students grasp challenging concepts quickly and efficiently. Each chapter presents a clinical vignette illustrating a therapeutic problem within a physiologic or biochemical system; followed by a discussion of the biochemistry, physiology, and pathophysiology of the system; and concluding with a presentation of the pharmacology of the drugs and drug classes that activate or inhibit the system by interacting with specific molecular and cellular targets."

"This ‘gold standard’ text explains the chemical basis of drug action, emphasizing the structure-activity relationships, physicochemical-pharmacokinetic properties, and metabolic profiles of the most commonly used drugs."

"Essential Cell Biology features lively, clear writing paired with exceptional illustrations and Dynamic Figures in the Norton Illumine Ebook, making it the ideal textbook for a first course in cell biology. The Sixth Edition incorporates new research throughout, highlighting emerging research areas like COVID-19. Check Your Understanding questions with rich answer-specific feedback throughout each chapter in the Illumine Ebook allow students to assess their reading comprehension, while Smartwork problems provide the opportunity for concept application and practice."

"This book begins with the fundamental principles of chemistry, biochemistry, and biology that underlie the discipline of medicinal chemistry. These principles are then applied to understanding the properties, mode of action, therapeutic applications, and limitations of various pharmaceutical agents. The subject matter is organized by pharmaceutical and therapeutic classes, providing a bridge between the basic sciences and clinical practice. The text contains many tables for quick reference to names, formulations, dosages, and applications. This edition includes chapter review questions and cases."

"Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs."

This book "provides practical and timely updates for pharmacists and pharmacy personnel who are involved in pharmacy-based immunization services. Updated throughout, it provides a step-by-step process for developing and implementing immunization services. As immunization policies and laws change, pharmacists have increased opportunities to positively impact immunization rates and educate their communities about the importance of vaccines. Practice changes and considerations are highlighted throughout the book, with a focus on the COVID-19 pandemic and new vaccine responsibilities."

This book "includes recent scientific developments in the field and embodies the collective contribution of experts with deep knowledge and experience in the selected subject areas. Shargel & Yu's Applied Biopharmaceutics & Pharmacokinetics, Eighth Edition provides the reader with a fundamental understanding of biopharmaceutics and pharmacokinetics principles that can be applied to patient drug therapy and rational drug product development."

This book "is an authoritative resource for students and for health care providers who counsel and care for patients undertaking self-treatment—nonprescription drugs, nutritional supplements, medical foods, nondrug and preventive measures, and complementary therapies. Its goal is to develop the knowledge and problem-solving skills needed to assess a patient’s health status and current practice of self-treatment, to determine whether self-care is necessary or appropriate, and, if appropriate, to recommend safe and effective self-care measures."

"Complex but critical skills are required for clinical pharmacists to effectively use lab data in screening for or diagnosing diseases and in monitoring the safety and effectiveness of treatment. As the only book of its kind specifically written for pharmacists by pharmacists, Basic Skills makes it easier to make accurate and critical decisions based on laboratory data."