LibGuides: MHA 501: Introduction to Healthcare Systems, Policies, Markets, Economics: Recommended databases

Useful links

LibGuides home page
Browse through all CNU library guides here.
CNU Library home page
Reach all of our library services and resources, as well as the CNU homepage.
A-Z Database page
Browse a full list of our library databases here.
Catalog
Browse CNU's physical collection of books.

Contact us

Email: library@cnsu.edu -- All questions and suggestions are welcome. We're eager to help.

Quick help: Walk-up hours (generally M-F) are posted in the library.

Schedule an appointment: Meet with a librarian on the topic of your choice.

Academic Search Complete
This database contains an extensive collection of peer-reviewed articles on a variety of subjects, including biology, chemistry, health sciences, humanities, health sciences, physics, and psychology. CNU login required. Key feature: Full-text finder.
EBM Reviews Full Text
This is a combined collection of all EBM Review sections (see more info for a detailed list). Includes systematic reviews, research studies, and physicians' commentary on topics in medicine and health care. CNU login required.
All EBM Review sections includes: ACP Journal Club, Cochrane Clinical Answers, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment, Cochrane Methodology Register, and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Medline (OVID Interface)
This database contains full-text and cited articles on topics within medicine, health care, the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science. CNU login required. Key features: Full-text finder, and indexed searching tools for those writing systematic reviews or other in-depth research articles.
RAND Publications
This publicly available, open access database is provided by Rand, a nonprofit research organization focused on public policy. This database includes research articles on public policy, related to: business, education, energy, environmental issues, health, health care, infrastructure, law, science, technology, transportation, workplaces, and more.
Science Direct
This database contains articles, journals & book chapters focused on all things "science:" ecology, environmental science, chemistry, geology, genetics, medicine, molecular biology, physics, psychology, and more. CNU Login required. Key feature: All articles in this database are peer-reviewed.
UpToDate
This database contains detailed explanations of changes in practice, medical specialties, drug information, illnesses and treatment, and patient education. Also provides calculators for various tests. CNU login required. Key feature: Topics by specialty, where you can learn about the newest updates in different medical fields and subfields.

Access Medicine
This database contains books, case studies, drug information, study tools, patient educational handouts, tutorial videos, lectures, and animations on topics within medicine. CNU login required. Key features: case studies, and 3D anatomy modules.
Bates Visual Guide
This database contains instructional videos on patient assessment and clinical skills in the medical field. CNU login required. Key feature: Extensive video collection.
NLM Digital Collection
This publicly available, open access collection contains full-text books and multimedia resources from the National Library of Medicine.