LibGuides: Systematic Reviews: About systematic reviews

Useful links

LibGuides home page
Browse through all CNU library guides here.
CNU Library home page
Reach all of our library services and resources, as well as the CNU homepage.
A-Z Database page
Browse a full list of our library databases here.
Catalog
Browse CNU's physical collection of books.

Contact us

Email: library@cnsu.edu -- All questions and suggestions are welcome. We're eager to help.

Quick help: Walk-up hours (generally M-F) are posted in the library.

Schedule an appointment: Meet with a librarian on the topic of your choice.

PRISMA: Guidelines to systematic reviews

These resources are meant to help you understand what goes into a systematic review, what steps you should take to complete one, and what issues you may come across along the way.

PRISMA checklist (2020)
This checklist covers all the requirements for systematic reviews. Made by PRISMA, which sets the guidelines for writing and publishing systematic reviews.
Prisma flow diagram 2020
You can download and fill out this flow diagram to track which sites and databases you search through, how many results you get, and which results you evaluate. Made by PRISMA, which sets the guidelines for writing and publishing systematic reviews.

prisma.org
Systematic reviews follow the PRISMA (Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses) guidelines. The checklist and flow diagram attached above are from this website, where you can find more resources and information about the requirements for systematic reviews.

CDC Library guide: Systematic reviews
Read the CDC's overview of systematic reviews. This guide covers how long it takes to write one, who is involved in writing them, and what issues to consider when planning a systematic review.
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
This authoritative source covers all aspects of systematic reviews. Browse through: planning reviews, determining the scope, collecting data, assessing bias, issues in reviews, and other topics. This free book is provided by Cochrane and updated consistently.
PubMed article: "Systematic Reviews and Meta-analysis: Understanding the Best Evidence in Primary Healthcare"
Read this article to understand what systematic reviews are and why they're important in medicine and healthcare.

Library help

Schedule a research appointment
CNU students, staff, and faculty: Schedule a research appointment with a librarian for personalized one-on-one help!
Database tutorials
In this guide, you'll find videos that explain how to navigate the database page and use individual databases.

Systematic Reviews

Useful links

Contact us

PRISMA: Guidelines to systematic reviews

Read more:

Library help